aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/mm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorRick Edgecombe <rick.p.edgecombe@intel.com>2019-05-27 14:10:58 -0700
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2019-06-03 11:47:25 +0200
commit31e67340cc65edfd9dac5ef26f81de8414ce5906 (patch)
treea32aa2705f623811af4da0664d8717449255bff1 /mm
parent8e41f8726dcf423621e2b6938d015b9796f6f676 (diff)
downloadstable-31e67340cc65edfd9dac5ef26f81de8414ce5906.tar.gz
stable-31e67340cc65edfd9dac5ef26f81de8414ce5906.tar.xz
stable-31e67340cc65edfd9dac5ef26f81de8414ce5906.zip
mm/vmalloc: Avoid rare case of flushing TLB with weird arguments
In a rare case, flush_tlb_kernel_range() could be called with a start higher than the end. In vm_remove_mappings(), in case page_address() returns 0 for all pages (for example they were all in highmem), _vm_unmap_aliases() will be called with start = ULONG_MAX, end = 0 and flush = 1. If at the same time, the vmalloc purge operation is triggered by something else while the current operation is between remove_vm_area() and _vm_unmap_aliases(), then the vm mapping just removed will be already purged. In this case the call of vm_unmap_aliases() may not find any other mappings to flush and so end up flushing start = ULONG_MAX, end = 0. So only set flush = true if we find something in the direct mapping that we need to flush, and this way this can't happen. Signed-off-by: Rick Edgecombe <rick.p.edgecombe@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com> Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Meelis Roos <mroos@linux.ee> Cc: Nadav Amit <namit@vmware.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Fixes: 868b104d7379 ("mm/vmalloc: Add flag for freeing of special permsissions") Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190527211058.2729-3-rick.p.edgecombe@intel.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm')
-rw-r--r--mm/vmalloc.c4
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/mm/vmalloc.c b/mm/vmalloc.c
index 93b2dca2aadb..4c9e150e5ad3 100644
--- a/mm/vmalloc.c
+++ b/mm/vmalloc.c
@@ -2125,6 +2125,7 @@ static void vm_remove_mappings(struct vm_struct *area, int deallocate_pages)
{
unsigned long start = ULONG_MAX, end = 0;
int flush_reset = area->flags & VM_FLUSH_RESET_PERMS;
+ int flush_dmap = 0;
int i;
/*
@@ -2163,6 +2164,7 @@ static void vm_remove_mappings(struct vm_struct *area, int deallocate_pages)
if (addr) {
start = min(addr, start);
end = max(addr + PAGE_SIZE, end);
+ flush_dmap = 1;
}
}
@@ -2172,7 +2174,7 @@ static void vm_remove_mappings(struct vm_struct *area, int deallocate_pages)
* reset the direct map permissions to the default.
*/
set_area_direct_map(area, set_direct_map_invalid_noflush);
- _vm_unmap_aliases(start, end, 1);
+ _vm_unmap_aliases(start, end, flush_dmap);
set_area_direct_map(area, set_direct_map_default_noflush);
}